Grits are a Southern dish that are traditionally eaten at breakfast or as part of a dinner plate. They are made from ground corn and water, and they can be served savory or sweet. The question on many people’s minds nowadays is whether grits are gluten-free. This blog post will discuss the history of grits, how to make them, what other foods they go well with, and finally if they’re gluten free!
Grits are made from ground corn and water – but that’s not where the story ends. Traditionally, they’re either served savory or sweet; some people even put cheese on them! It is also traditional to serve grits with eggs, ham, bacon, sausages or seafood. When it comes down to breakfast vs dinner: both are great times for eating a plate of delicious grits.
The question on many people’s minds nowadays is whether these versatile grains are gluten free? This blog post will discuss how to make them (you don’t need any wheat!), what other foods go well with them, and finally if they’re gluten-free!
Gluten Free Status: Gluten doesn’t exist in grits
In this blog post, you’ll learn:
The difference between whole vs. instant grits (hint: one is more expensive than the other!).
How to make savory or sweet versions of these delicious foods! And what better way to do it than with a delicious recipe? Try our French Toast Grits for breakfast! What are your thoughts on gluten free status? Gluten doesn’t exist in grits so they’re definitely safe from cross contamination and exposure to wheat products. It’s always important that we check labels before consuming something new – but don’t worry about checking for anything here because there are none!)
Grit Facts: Did you know that people have been eating grits for over 300 years? It’s believed that the dish was introduced to the southern U.S. by African slaves who brought their traditional cuisine with them when they came!
Gluten doesn’t exist in grits so they’re definitely safe from cross contamination and exposure to wheat products.
Grits are a staple in the southern United States. They are commonly made from corn and come either white or yellow depending on what is used to boil them. A variant of grits, hominy grits (also known as polenta), use dried maize instead of corn for cooking. Grits are often eaten with eggs at breakfast time, they can be topped with butter and salt or cheese and sausage.
Milled into flour, it is also an essential ingredient in Southern biscuits like buttermilk biscuits which are often served alongside country ham gravy.
There’s no doubt about it: grittiness makes people cringe! But here you will find out that this simple food has many health benefits too
just don’t eat it with butter and cheese.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, oats, barley or rye and can also be present in processed foods like cold cuts, sauces, bouillon cubes etc.
If you are gluten-intolerant or have celiac disease then grits are not an option for you as they contain the gluten protein that causes inflammation of the gut lining and other health issues. However if your diet doesn’t restrict grains containing this substance don’t worry!
Grits are naturally low in fat (no more than 0.25g per serving), sodium (less than 120mg) cholesterol free; however some commercially produced products may include added salt so check labels before purchase to avoid excess intake.
Grits are made from corn that has been soaked in water or milk for a period of time. This process is called nixtamalization, which enhances the flavor and nutrient content of the meal by breaking down nutrients found in healthy grains. Some people believe this process creates phytates–a substance where helps to balance minerals like calcium, iron and zinc but can also bind with other substances such as gluten over time.
Therefore if you are not celiac it doesn’t matter what type of grits you choose – whole grain or white- long as they don’t contain wheat flour (or any “wheat” products) because those will be processed and then packaged offsite. The label won’t list wheat as an ingredient, but if you see any of these words on the back of a package it likely contains flour:
“enriched wheat flour” or “wheat starch,” meaning they are made with whole-wheat.
If there is gluten in your grits (or other dishes) than that means you have celiac disease and need to take extra care when cooking them because anything containing corn will be contaminated by the substance. You should only cook grits from scratch using 100% ground white cornmeal for safety reasons since some food plants are considered ‘mixing facilities’ where products may mix together during production which leads to cross contamination. That’s why many people choose stoneground brands like Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground Corn meal.
So how do you know if your grits are gluten free? The best way to find out is by checking labels, it’s always important that you read packages carefully and check for whether a product contains wheat or flour before deciding on buying it! If they don’t contain any mention of these ingredients than they’re likely safe for consumption with only one caveat: be careful about cross contamination while cooking them as well in order to avoid getting sick.
Gluten-free? Your guide to grits.
Grits are often considered the quintessential Southern food, but many people don’t realize that they’re gluten free! That’s right, while there is some debate about whether or not cornmeal itself contains gluten (some brands are labeled “gluten-free”), most experts agree that it’s safe for celiac and other gluten intolerant individuals to eat grits made with cornmeal as long as no wheat flour was added.
The only exception, of course, is if it’s cooked in the same pot as gluten-containing foods. So before you decide on buying some grits to try them out be sure to check their ingredients and cook with care!